Mayor Nirenberg and LGBTQ Advisory Committee to Hold Town Hall

Members of the Mayor's LGBTQ Advisory Committee (Photo: Facebook)

San Antonio Mayor Ron Nirenberg announced today that he will be holding a town hall meeting on February 19 in conjunction with his LGBTQ Advisory Committee.

According to the Facebook announcement, the Mayor and the Advisory Committee will be having “a discussion on the issues affecting the community.”

The event, which is dubbed “Mayor Nirenberg’s State of the Community Town Hall,” will mark the first time the Mayor will appear publicly with the 15 members of the Advisory Committee since they were appointed last April.

Flyer for town hall.

At the time of the selection, the Mayor told the finalists “As a member, you will have the opportunity to improve the quality of life for members of the LGBTQ+ community by acting as a conduit to the Mayor’s Office. Your voice will help highlight challenges and best practices that will be able to serve as foundations for policy recommendations.”

The group began meeting quarterly last May.

The members of the committee are: Rev. Naomi Brown; Ginger Chun; Alexander Darke; Anel Flores; Daniel Graney; Jamie Hash; Barbie Hurtado; Rev. Dr. William H. Knight; Erick LaRue Macias; Chad Reumann; Luka Rios; Maria Salazar; Melissa Shiplett-Jupe; Ashley Smith; and David Solis.

Mayor Nirenberg’s State of the Community Town Hall, Feb. 19 at 6 p.m. at the San Antonio Central Library, 600 Soledad St.


Related posts

Read previous post:
Pride Center Hires Community Empowerment Coordinator

Pride Center San Antonio has hired it's first-ever employee, a community empowerment coordinator who will help organize programming, services and...