DAY OF DECISION: Where to vote on November 3

Democratic candidates: Joe Biden, President. MJ Hegar, Senate. Joaquin Castro, U.S. Rep, District 20. Wendy Davis, U.S. Rep, District 21. Gina Ortiz Jones, U.S. Rep, District 23. (Courtesy photos)

After four years of the Trump presidency, voters across the U.S. are ready to make their voices heard. The local election includes ballots for president, Congressional and U.S. Senate races, state offices ( judges, representatives and senators) and county officials including sheriff.

In Bexar County, there are over 300 polling places. Additionally, voters can use any of these locations to vote, even if they are not located in their usual voting precinct. Use this link to see the complete list of voting centers. These polling locations will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

If you have not returned a vote by mail ballot, you must return it in person at the Bexar County Elections Department, 1103 S Frio St. in San Antonio. You may also  go to any polling center, return your blank mail in ballot and vote in person

This year, the county is using new voting machines. (See video below.)

For a complete list of races and candidates, use this link to view a generic ballot for Bexar County, or to see if your mail-in ballot has been received. For more information contact the office of the Bexar County Elections Administrator, Jacquelyn. F. Callanen at (210) 335-8683.


President: Joe Biden

U.S. Senate: MJ Hegar

U.S. Rep, District 20: Joaquin Castro

U.S. Rep, District 21: Wendy Davis

U.S. Rep, District 23: Gina Ortiz Jones

U.S. Rep, District 35: Lloyd Doggett

Railroad Commissioner: Chrysta Castañeda

Chief Justice, Supreme Court: Amy Clark Meachum

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 6: Kathy Cheng

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 7: Staci Williams

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 8: Gisela Triana

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 3: Elizabeth Davis Frizell

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 4: Tina Clinton

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 9: Brandon Birmingham

State Board of Education, District 5: Rebecca Bell-Metereau

State Representative, District 116: Trey Martinez Fischer

State Representative, District 117: Philip Cortez

State Representative, District 118: Leo Pacheco

State Representative, District 120: Barbara Gervin-Hawkins

State Representative, District 121: Celina Montoya

State Representative, District 122: Claire Barnett

State Representative, District 123: Diego Bernal

State Representative, District 124: Ina Minjarez

State Representative, District 125: Ray Lopez

Chief Justice, 4th Court of Appeals District: Rebeca Martinez

District Judge, 37th Judicial District: Nicole Garza

District Judge, 57th Judicial District: Antonia “Toni” Arteaga

District Judge, 73rd Judicial District: David Canales

District Judge, 144th Judicial District: Michael Mery

District Judge, 386th Judicial District: Jacqueline “Jackie” Valdes

District Judge, 379th Judicial District: Ron Rangel

District Judge, 399th Judicial District: Frank J. Castro

District Judge, 407th Judicial District: Tina Torres

District Judge, 408th Judicial District: Angelica Jimenez

District Judge, 438th Judicial District: Rosie Alvarado

Sheriff: Javier Salazar

Commissioner, Precinct 2: Justin Rodriguez

Commissioner, Precinct 3: Christine Hortick

Constable, Precinct 2: Leticia R. Vazquez

Constable, Precinct 4: Kathryn Brown


Use this link for San Antonio Express-News endorsements.


Related posts

Read previous post:
San Antonio Express-News editorial criticizes anti-LGBTQ smears in local political races

An editorial in the October 29 issue of the San Antonio Express-News points out anti-LGBTQ claims made in two local...