Stonewall Democrats Announce Endorsements for March 3 Primary

Endorsements made by the Stonewall Democrats include: Cristina Tzintzún Ramirez for U.S. Senate; Joaquin Castro for U.S. Rep, District 20; and Gina Ortiz Jones for U.S. Rep, District 23. (Courtesy photos)

After an almost day-long candidate forum on January 26, the Stonewall Democrats of San Antonio announced their endorsements for the March 3 Democratic Primary.

According to their website, “The Stonewall Democrats of San Antonio is a political action committee that educates the public and elected officials on issues of concern to the LGBTQIA community and advocates on behalf of the LGBTQIA community.”

In order to qualify for an endorsement, candidates had to complete a questionnaire. Over 80 candidates or their spokespersons addressed Stonewall members and answered their questions.

Final voting on each endorsement was completed during a closed-door session, open only to the Stonewall membership. Over 40 endorsements were made for federal and state races.

No endorsements were made for State Senator, District 21; State Senator, District 26; Constable, Precinct 2; Tax Assessor-Collector; and District Judge, 57th Judicial District.

In the race for County Commissioner, Precinct 2, a “favorable” rating was given to Justin Rodriguez and Queta Rodriguez. Favorable ratings are given when members cannot reach a consensus between two candidates considered to be equally qualified for the position they seek.

There are 17 candidates running for President of the United States on the ballot. However, Stonewall organizers chose not to call for an endorsement in that race.

Deadline to register to vote in the March 3 primary is February 3. Early voting begins on Tuesday, February 18 and continues through Friday, February 28. Use this link to register or for information about voting hours and polling locations.


U.S. Senate: Cristina Tzintzún Ramirez
U.S. Rep, District 20: Joaquin Castro
U.S. Rep, District 21: Wendy Davis
U.S. Rep, District 23: Gina Ortiz Jones
U.S. Rep, District 28: Jessica Cisneros
U.S. Rep, District 35: Lloyd Doggett

State Senator, District 19: Xochil Peña Rodriguez
State Senator, District 21: No endorsement
State Senator, District 26: No endorsement
State Representative, District 116: Trey Martinez Fischer
State Representative, District 117: Philip Cortez
State Representative, District 118: Leo Pacheco
State Representative, District 119: Jennifer Ramos
State Representative, District 120: Barbara Gervin-Hawkins
State Representative, District 121: Becca Moyer-DeFelice
State Representative, District 122: Claire Barnett
State Representative, District 123: Diego Bernal
State Representative, District 124: Ina Minjarez
State Representative, District 125: Ray Lopez
State Board of Education, District 5: Rebecca Bell-Metereau
Railroad Commissioner: Chrysta Castañeda

Bexar County Sheriff Javier Salazar was endorsed for a second term. (Courtesy photo)

Commissioner, Precinct 1: Sergio “Chico” Rodriguez
Commissioner, Precinct 2: “Favorable” rating for Justin Rodriguez & Queta Rodriguez
Commissioner, Precinct 3: Christine Hortick
Constable, Precinct 1: Ruben Tejeda
Constable, Precinct 2: No endorsement
Constable, Precinct 4: Stan Ramos
Tax Assessor-Collector: No endorsement
Sheriff: Javier Salazar
BCDP County Chair: Monica Ramirez-Alcantara

Chief Justice, Supreme Court: Amy Clark Meachum
Justice, Supreme Court, Place 6: Kathy Cheng
Justice, Supreme Court, Place 7: Brandy Voss
Justice, Supreme Court, Place 8: Gisela Triana
Chief Justice, 4th Court of Appeals District: Rebeca Martinez
Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 4: Tina Clinton
Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 3: William Pieratt Demond
District Judge, 37th Judicial District: Michael Mery
District Judge, 57th Judicial District: No Endorsement
District Judge, 379th Judicial District: Ron Rangel
District Judge, 386th Judicial District: Jacqueline “Jackie” Valdes
District Judge, 399th Judicial District: Gabe Quintanilla
District Judge, 407th Judicial District: Tina Torres
District Judge, 408th Judicial District: Angelica Jimenez
District Judge, 438th Judicial District: Rosie Alvarado


Related posts

Read previous post:
Record Number of Participants to Take Part in Pride Bigger Than Texas Parade

With 179 entries, the 2019 Pride Bigger Than Texas will be the biggest Pride parade ever held in San Antonio....